Question: What is/are Prophetic Art(s) as You Understand the Term?

Lew Curtiss

Coach
Hello Fellow Artists of Father God,

While at the Gathering Conference back in late July 2017, I witnessed a number of visual artists painting during both the talks our guest speakers gave and during the worship times. In fact, I spent a fair amount of time with Dinah Rau over to the right of the stage as she painted some incredibly inspired work. I guess I was drawn to Dinah because, as an artist myself, I was particularly engaged by her work.

During worship, I listened and was invited into some of the worship music expression from the stage. It was a delight to participate. Drumming, as a prayer language, I grasp that. Like Todd, Elizabeth, and Daniel, I am moved by rhythms and musical sounds.

Like drumming, I can also grasp the personal expression of flagging. I understand how our bodies can move in dance and worship with flagging. I am reminded of King David celebrating in dance as the Ark of the Covenant returned to Jerusalem. While I'm not a flagger myself, I certainly do move to the sounds and rhythms coming from the musicians.

What I have yet to grasp is what's going on with an artist while they paint or draw during presentations and worship. Where does the impetus to make visual art, during a conference or a service come from? How do you connect with that inspiration, and how are you able to translate it into visual art?

Lastly, I realize that my own collage / mixed-media arts practice is prophetic in its very nature. In the studio, I have all the time in the world to make art with Father, listening to Him and working at a decidedly leisurely pace. I grasp that much, but not how one creates visual art in front of a crowd in the pressing time constraints of several hours of praise and worship.

Thanks for listening,
Lew ~

Reactions: Del

Alice

Administrator
Coach
Hi Lew!